Birthday surprises –

There is nothing as important to me than family and so far this month I have been fortunate to be able to spend more time with them!

As I posted here, my Son celebrated his 30th birthday.  His wife was going to honor him with a surprise party and I was beyond excited that I could go.  Not only was the party a surprise, my visit was too!!

Aside from my excitement to visit my Washington family, the trip was not without apprehension.  This was going to be my trip ALONE… Once again, I took a picture of where I parked the car and made my way through security, boarding and loading my own luggage in the overhead bin.  I was feeling rather accomplished and thinking that this might not be as bad as I thought it may be.  Once the pilot announced that the doors were closed and we began to taxi to the runway my heart sunk ~  I looked next to me and saw this:

IMG_6163[1]

Uh huh.. Nothing like rubbing it in – YOU.ARE.ALONE  !!!  The guy behind me must have thought I was a not job as I was in tears for the majority of the flight.  I know that in time this won’t hurt so bad, but I am working it out.

We indeed surprised my Son when he arrived home from work and saw his Ma standing at the door!!  I had to tell him a little white lie as we have a family locator app on our phones… Told him I dropped my phone in the spa when I was cleaning it, had to turn it off to dry it in rice… HA!!!

IMG_6304[1]

The day after I arrived both my son and daughter-in-law were working so my daughter-in-law’s mom and I got to spend the day playing in Seattle.  She is moving into a new place and I was able to have a royal tour – Kimmie and I have become so close these past months, she has provided me so much support and guidance.  I am so thankful to have her in my life and call her ohana!

IMG_6175

 

It was a beautiful sunny day in Seattle and we had lunch at one of my favorite places, Ivar’s for some clam chowder in a sourdough bowl, SO YUMMY!!!  This was my first visit to this location, right on Lake Washington and it was so awesome as you can see…

IMG_6174

After a fun filled day in Seattle it was time to head home and get ready for the surprise party!!!!!  Again, dear son was completely surprised – The gathering was held at Cole Street Brewery, which is a 2 Barrel direct fired brew house with 4 barrel fermentation tanks.  It is a small tasting room and the owners make you feel so at home.  I was great to spend time with my kids’ friends.

249506219

The brewery also has an amazing view of Mt. Rainier, which it happened to be a beautiful day/evening and afforded us this backdrop for our group picture:

IMG_6191 (2)

I highly suggest you click on this picture to enlarge it and see how beautiful the view is!!!

Before I knew it, four days had passed and it was time for me to return home.  I love visiting the state of Washington, so beautiful and my family and friends there are such wonderful people!  Happy Birthday Tommy, hope you had a great time ~

Until next time…

 

 

 

One thought on “Birthday surprises –

Leave a Reply

